jump to navigation

RPGaDay in August – August 15th: Inspiration Sources August 15, 2016

Posted by jkahane in gaming hut, personal, rpg hut.
Tags: , , ,
trackback

We continue on with RPGaDay in August, this year hosted by BrigadeCon.

rpgaday2016_graphic.jpg

Day 15 – Your best source of inspiration for RPGs?

One of the relatively easy questions for the month, methinks. There are several sources of inspiration that I use for my gaming.

First off, I’m an avid reader. Not just science fiction, fantasy, and the like, but all sorts of other genres. I draw a lot of inspiration from books, novels, non-fiction, historical, and the like, and love spending time in libraries doing that sort of research. Researching stuff on a topic I don’t know for a game or an idea is lots of fun, and I prefer to do this the old-fashioned way (though I also use the internet as well).

Social media is a good source as well. Lots of people talk about their games and its content, and come up with interesting ideas and thoughts that I find myself “borrowing” for adventures and the like. Sharing ideas and listening to people on the internet can be quite inspirational.

Movies, tv shows/series, documentaries, and so forth are also good for inspiration when it comes to roleplaying games. Something I’ll see for only a flicker of a second or five will spark my imagination and creativity and get me going. Can be very inspirational.

That said, my inspiration for game adventures, plots, characters, and everything else come from a variety of sources that I can’t even think of at the moment. But the prime inspiration for me is the game that I’m running and working with. Setting material for a roleplaying game is what often gives me the best inspiration for the game in question, where a little snippet here or there will inspire me to jot a character idea, a scenario idea, or whatever down on paper. Something that I can flesh out later, or something that gets added to as I continue to read the setting and game in question.

And that’s about it for this question, methinks. 🙂

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

