jump to navigation

Friday Night Game – Sixcess Core Fantasy, Session 11 February 4, 2017

Posted by jkahane in personal, playing, rpg hut.
Tags: , , , , , ,
trackback

Spent a good evening gaming with the Friday night group last night. DavidM continued on with the Sixcess Core campaign that he’s running. You can read the report on the tenth session by following the link.

The players showed up at my place around 7:00 pm, and we spent a bit of time chatting about the week that was, and then DavidM announced it was time to get started.

*****
CHARACTERS

Herna of Morspell (Kathy) – Swordswoman
Safira Markas (Angela) – Sorceress
Adara Theniss (Ellie) – Thief
Barak Thar (Mark) – Caravan guard
Haven Randar (JohnK) – Forester

Day 12, Month 5, Year 3512

The ogres were not all that difficult to track in the dark by torchlight, as they left such large, deep prints and carnage in their wake. It was obvious from the tracks that our companions did not make it easy for them, though I was concerned at some blood traces. Eventually my eyes caught sight of fire light, and I doused the torch, and cautioned Safira Markas to stealth and quiet. She told me that she had a few spells that would be effective for our purposes, but I said that I’d rather hold off on magic until we might really need it. She acquiesced, but didn’t seem happy, and was obviously worried about our companions (especially Adara Theniss). We snuck up on the ogre camp cautiously, and discovered that my suspicions were correct – there were two of the creatures. They are forest ogres, eight feet tall, large and somewhat stocky, with moss and leaves for hair, and carrying clubs and what might have been longswords (that appeared to be short swords) belted at their sides.

Looking around the camp, I finally spotted Safira and my companions, Herna of Morspell, Adara, and Barak Thar. They were trussed together, close to the fire, their belongings and equipment laid out in a pile close by. Barak seemed to be having trouble moving, and Safira whispered to me that he appeared to have a broken arm. Herna had a gash on her right leg that made me cringe. I told Safira that I was going to scout around. She told me to be careful, and that she would see what she might come up with using her abilities; her voice bespoke her anger at how our companions had been treated. I warned her not to do anything rash, but she merely chuckled softly and said that she wouldn’t; she trusted my forest abilities and judgement.

I moved off as quietly as I was able, and scouted around to see what the lay of the land was. The forest ogres had set their camp near a stream, but only had a small fire nearby (as they are quite frightened of it). There was no way that I wanted an open confrontation with the two creatures, though they didn’t appear to be wearing any form of heavy armour, just some light wood boarding serving that purpose over filthy clothing. Returning to Safira’s side, accidentally making her jump (though it fortunately didn’t alert the ogres, dumb as they are), I told her what I’d seen, and said that I thought I had a plan.

We retreated somewhat from the ogre camp, so that we could discuss things properly. The key, I told Safira, was fire. Since the forest ogres were afraid of it, that would be the primary weapon. I gathered up several sharp sticks and some branches that I hoped would serve as torches, and Safira and I shaped them as best we could into arrows, the sorceress using some of her magic to make them sharper. Once we were ready, we moved quietly over to a place that I thought offered some shelter, and lit a small fire (hopefully out of the ogres’ sight). Lighting several of the makeshift arrows, I started firing them at the two ogres (using all the skill I possessed, and hopefully with some luck), who were visible from where we were located. With luck, the first arrow struck one of the two ogres right in the left side of the chest, and the creature’s “armour” immediately burst into flame. The second shot landed slightly wide, but by that time, Safira had launched her own attack, sending a small bolt of fire at the second ogre, striking it firmly in the chest. It burst into flames, and a satisfied Safira grinned somewhat bloodthirstily at the creature. Lighting two of the branches, I charged towards the ogres, Safira following me as quickly as she could with torches of her own.

I don’t really remember much of what happened after that, as things happened very fast. Adara had not been as helpless as she let on, and was free of the ogre restraints, and had managed to free Herna as well. The northern warrior ignored the pain she must have been in, and grabbing up her longsword attacked the creature that wasn’t a raging ball of of fire, screaming in the night. Her battle cries mixed with the screams of the ogre in a cacophany that I wouldn’t soon forget. I helped Herna as best I could, handing her one of the burning torches, and shoving the other at the creature. Meanwhile, Safira threw her torches at the burning ogre, and did something that seemed to…magnify the effects of the fire. With both of the creatures dead, Safira made sure through some arcane means that the fires did not spread into the forest proper, for which I was grateful.

In the aftermath of the fight with the ogres, Safira and I did the best we could on the spot for both Herna’s leg wounds and Barak’s serious arm and shoulder injuries. Oddly enough, Adara hadn’t really been injured by the ogres, though she was very scared about the whole ordeal. Safira praised me for the plan of attack that I came up with, and was also gratified she got to keep her promise to the ogres. We managed to get both Barak and Herna to the spot where I’d set up the small fire, and made it into a proper campfire before tending to their injuries more seriously. Safira and I learned of how the three had been taken by surprise by the ogres, and how the fight had not gone their way. They were grateful to us for coming to their rescue, though Barak weakly asked with humour why it had taken us so long. Safira, Adara, and I did the best we could for Herna’s and Barak’s injuries, and made camp for the night.

I was exhausted when sunrise came, having taken almost triple watch duty, but nothing untoward occurred during the night, though I sensed that wild animals and scavengers had made short work of the two ogre bodies. It was late the next morning before we felt ready to do much of anything. Herna’s natural healing abilities served her well, and Barak was in fine spirits after Safira and I reset his left shoulder, though his physical injuries would take some time to heal. With his arm well splinted partially immobilised, the five of us sat around the campfire by the morning’s light, and talked about what we would do next. It was decided that it wasn’t worth trying to get to Pasran Wood now, not with two of us being so sorely hurt. Safira closed her eyes for a few moments, and then said that should thought there was a small village some few miles to the north of us. Barak said there were several villages in this area, near to the wood, but careful not to take too many chances. Safira said it was best to head in that direction, as both Herna and Barak (regardless of their claims) needed proper healing assistance.

Once the decision was made, we tidied the area of the campsite, helped split the equipment and provisions we had for the trip (taking our injured comrades into account), and set off for the village. As we slowly moved off through the vegetation, Adara complained, “But we never got to see Pasran Wood!” We all laughed at that, and Barak said, “I guess not.” As we continued to travel on our way, the question raised some debate…
*****

Friday night’s game session of DavidM’s Sixcess Core fantasy campaign was very enjoyable, and I thought that the session had a bit of everything in it. We wrapped up the second adventure DavidM had come up with for us, and it was a lot of fun. I was sad that DavidM’s running has come to a close, since I enjoyed being on the players’ side of the GM Screen. DavidM told me afterwards that he enjoyed running the game, but that he felt that he didn’t plan enough in advance, and that he doesn’t envy me being on the other side of the GM Screen again.

Anyway, a lovely game session to wrap up the scenario, and everyone seems to have had a good time. I’m not sure what will be on the gaming schedule for next Friday, but I’m somewhat looking forward to it, though wishing DavidM were still running! 🙂

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

